Kansas PIP Insurance | The bank rate
As a no-fault state, you may have heard of personal injury protection insurance (PIP) from your insurance agent. Personal injury protection in Kansas is a compulsory type of insurance that is required by state law.
PIP insurance in Kansas is part of all state insurance policies. It protects you by paying for medical bills and more if you are the victim of an accident, and allows you to bypass the court system and earn quick payout on claims when money is needed to pay for the costs. hospitalization or other injury-related expenses.
How Does Kansas PIP Insurance Work? This is essentially a simple process that can be initiated by filing a claim with your insurer following an accident.
What is PIP insurance?
Your auto insurance is divided into a number of coverage options – some state-mandated and some optional – that offer different types of coverage depending on what happens to you while you’re behind the wheel. You are required to assume liability for personal injury and property for accidents for which you are responsible, as well as uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage in the event that you are struck by someone without insurance.
You will also need to purchase PIP coverage. This covers your medical bills, lost wages and more in the event of an accident, and allows you to have control quickly and efficiently when you need it. The minimum amount you can transport to Kansas is divided into several categories:
- Medical benefits: up to $ 4,500
- Rehabilitation benefits: up to $ 4,500
- Lost wages: up to $ 900 per month
- Daily tasks, such as cleaning: up to $ 25 per day for one year
- Funeral benefits: up to $ 2,000
However, this may not be the only coverage that protects your interests. You can also supplement your policy with optional coverages such as Collision and Comprehensive to protect your vehicle following an accident.
How does Kansas PIP work?
How does Kansas PIP work? It’s pretty straightforward. PIP insurance in Kansas can be used for expenses incurred as a result of a collision, regardless of who is at fault. As with all no-fault states, you would file a PIP claim with your own insurer, rather than the other driver’s company. Instead of taking legal action, which can take years to resolve and be very expensive, you’ll settle for the amount awarded to you by your own insurer as a result of your claim.
Here are some of the costs that your PIP insurance will cover:
- Ambulance care
- Surgical costs
- Medical care
- Rehabilitation costs
- Loss of wages during your convalescence
- Certain household chores, such as cleaning services while you are recovering
So, for example, if you’re struck at an intersection on a left turn and sustain injuries that require hospitalization, it’s possible that the other driver’s liability insurance will pay (assuming they are either at fault), but you could also make a claim on your PIP coverage, including the costs of hiring someone to do your groceries while you are recovering and you cannot handle such tasks on your own.
Is PIP Mandatory in Kansas?
Yes, PIP is required by law in Kansas to drive on public streets. If you’re hoping to see Kansas PIP insurance explained, the state insurance service clearly describes the PIP coverage you will need.
In addition to PIP, your insurance agent may offer you medical payment coverage, or medpay. Medpay is similar to PIP in that it covers medical expenses, but it doesn’t go further: unlike PIP, it won’t pay for lost wages or household expenses. This can be an additional buffer to protect you from an accident, but is not necessary like PIP is.
How much does PIP cost in Kansas?
Insurance costs vary greatly from person to person. Insurers take several factors into account when determining rates: age, make and model of the car, where it is parked, the owner’s age and credit rating are just a few. some of them.
Another factor is the amount of PIP coverage you purchase. You are required by law to have PIP coverage of a minimum value of $ 4,500 in Kansas, as well as additional coverage as described above. But you can carry more if you are willing to pay a higher premium. For this reason, the cost of PIP insurance in Kansas will vary from driver to driver.
Key points to note about PIP insurance in Kansas
PIP in Kansas is a reality for any driver in the state. Here is, briefly, what you need to know about it:
- How does Kansas PIP work? Simple: it offers quick payment on your injury claim after an accident.
- PIP insurance is mandatory in Kansas because the state is considered a no-fault state.
- PIP coverage in Kansas will cover a variety of medical expenses, as well as lost wages and some household chores.
- By having PIP insurance in Kansas, you give up the right to sue the other driver in an accident in most cases.
Frequently Asked Questions
How and when to file a PIP complaint?
File your PIP claim in Kansas as soon as possible after being involved in an accident, regardless of who is at fault, and even if you are not the driver. By law, you have up to two years to file the claim, but since PIP is designed to get the money back to you as quickly as possible, it makes sense to file immediately.
Are PIP and medical payments the same?
PIP and medical payments, or medpay, are two types of insurance available to Kansas drivers. They are similar in that both will pay for medical bills following an accident. Medpay, however, is not mandatory, but can serve as back-up insurance for added peace of mind. Medpay coverage is more limited than PIP: it does not cover lost wages or family allowances, as well as certain medical expenses such as psychiatric care.